Chai Spiced Almond Butter

I started eating almond butter about a year ago and it was a hard sell from the good ol’ sugary peanut butter I grew up on. You know, that peanut butter that basically shaped your childhood as it was in every peanut butter and jelly sandwich since you were 2. The one that peanut butter cookies were made out of, which had more added sugar to it. The one that got smeared onto celery to make ants on a log (if you were into that sort of thing…).

Chai Spiced Almond Butter

One of my favourites with no additives. Nothing but almonds!

When I started to eat peanut butter’s cousin Almond Butter, I didn’t like it. It was cardboardy and really lacked flavour. Over time and after searching for a brand I could muster, it was ok. I could put up with it. Then my sister showed me to sprinkle cinnamon on it. This is now the only way I can really eat it! It’s amazing!

Chai Spiced Almond Butter

While travelling this summer, I found an almond butter that is like no other. Is that saying from somewhere??? Sounds familiar. Anyways, one of them was spiced with chai! Like traditional Indian tea! It was fantastic!

Chai Spiced Almond Butter

I ended up buying a jar for myself and my sister and back to Canada I went. We both finished our jars and instantly wanted more. It gave me inspiration to try and spice my own almond butter. I began researching ingredients and testing out quantities. It is now one of my favourite snacks and I look forward to eating it often!

Chai Spiced Almond Butter

I’ve landed on one that I would like to share with you! I hope you like it as much as I do! This recipe is perfect for Fall as it gives you that cozy feeling from the inside!

Chai Spiced Almond Butter

Chai Spiced Almond Butter

Prep time: 10 minutes     Cook time: n/a     Cool time: n/a

Ingredients:

1 cup almond butter

1 tbsp ground cardamom (I de-pod and grind my own, awesome fragrance and flavourful)

1 tbsp ground ginger

1 tbsp ground cinnamon

1 tbsp vanilla extract

3/4 tsp ground clove

3/4 tsp ground black pepper

3/4 tsp nutmeg, optional

a few pinches of salt to taste

1/2 tbsp honey, optional

Directions:

In a small to medium bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients.

Add vanilla and stir. It will clump a little bit but will crumble apart into powder within a few seconds.

In a seal tight container, add the almond butter and 2 tbsp of the chai mixture. I use a small rubber spatula to combine. Add honey if you prefer it sweeter like I do.

Let sit overnight in the fridge and add more chai mixture if you prefer it more powerful. I usually add another 1/2 tbsp.

Store in the refrigerator for up to a month in a seal tight container.

**You can use this same mixture to make traditional chai tea. You can add other spices such as fennel, allspice, star anise, saffron, basil and so on. 

4 thoughts on “Chai Spiced Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

