Vegan Banana Bread

A few months ago my sister decided to become Vegan. When we get together, it has had it’s challenges, as I’m usually trying to eat more towards the Paleo diet. These two nutritional paths are total opposites and we sometimes find it difficult to eat together. We do manage and it has just been a matter of understanding more what the other needs. Some of the recipes she has made for me so far have all been totally amazing! This is one of them!

Vegan Banana Bread

That being said, my husband and I were invited to a BBQ party this past weekend and were asked to bring a few items. Husband picked up the meat for the BBQ, however knowing that some people who eat Vegan were going to be there, I thought it would be awesome to bring my sisters favourite Vegan Banana Bread! Since it was more potluck style, I switched it up to mini muffin bites! Vegan Banana Bread

I showed the picture to my sister of how I prepared them and she had asked that I send her some. I figure I would ship a few of the left overs from the party. The only problem was, there were none left! When people ate them, they ate 3 at a time and would turn to me with their mouth full and tell me how good they were. This recipe is amazing for those times where you run out of eggs and want to bake something! The coconut oil keeps the bread moist.

Vegan Banana Bread

Vegan Banana Bread

Prep time: 10 minutes     Cook time: 20-40 minutes depending*     Cool time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

4 ripe bananas

1/2 cup organic sugar

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 to 1/2 tsp cinnamon

pinch of nutmeg

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (or regular AP)

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

Option – 2 tbsp of sunflower seeds, walnuts, carob chips etc.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, mash the bananas and mix in the sugar, coconut oil, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Sift dry ingredients into the banana mixture. Add seeds, nuts or chips if using.

In a greased loaf pan or muffin tin, add the mixture.

Bake for 30-40 minutes if using a loaf pan, 20 minutes for mini muffin tin or 20-30 minutes for regular muffin tin.

Let cool and enjoy!

{Recipe from my sister ☺}

Vegan Banana Bread

3 thoughts on “Vegan Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Party Bites (aka Puppy Chow) | Bake and Be Merry

Leave a Reply

