Shrimp and Grits

Now being in the south, there are a few ways to fit in. One, you could try your best southern accent, which to be honest, comes out naturally in conversation with locals. And it’s not even on purpose! I think it is part of our evolution which makes us not stick out which could have gotten us in trouble back in the day!

Another way is to cook like you’re from the south. No, I’m not talking about frying everything in butter like Paula Deen, where even butter needs more butter.I’m talking about soul food.

My father and I took a cooking class once in New Orleans, and the instructor said that every mother who had a son, always asked when he met a girl, if she has a good family, and can she make a roux. Now there is no roux in this recipe, but I am happy to report that I can indeed make one! 🙂

This particular blog post is about some stick to your ribs kinda soul food – Shrimp and Grits!

Shrimp and Grits

My husband wanted me to give it a try and after some research I went with the simplest recipe I could find from the south, and of course Bobby Flay had to be involved somehow. I found a video of him assisting Martha Nesbitt, a food writer in Savanna, Georgia, to make Shrimp and Grits. What makes me laugh about this video is that Martha uses 3 tablespoons of butter, and Bobby makes a “Whoooaa” sound, indicating that it’s a lot. I then looked over at one of his recipes and it has 2 tablespoons butter AND 3/4 cup whipping cream! Who’s Whooaa-ing now? However, I do want to try his other Shrimp and Grits recipe to compare one day!

Shrimp and GritsShrimp and Grits Shrimp and Grits

I’m blogging this recipe from the comfort of the front porch’s rocking chair at my husbands family’s cabin in the south. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did. It’s cheesy and garlicky. Perfect for a big family dinner!

Shrimp and Grits

Shrimp and Grits

Prep time: 15 minutes    Cook time: 25 minutes    Cool time: n/a

Ingredients:

4 cups water

Salt and Pepper

1 cup white stone ground grits

3 tbsp butter, unsalted

1-2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese

1 pound shelled and deveined shrimp

6 slices of chopped bacon

4 tsp lemon juice

2 tbsp chopped parsley

1 cup thinly sliced scallions

1 large glove of garlic, minced

Directions:

In a medium to large pot, ring water to a boil. Add salt and pepper.

Once boiled, add the grits and whisk for a minute allowing lumps to be removed. Cook until water is absorbed, about 10 to 25 minutes.

Remove from heat and stir in butter and cheese.

Clean the shrimp and pat dry. Set aside.

Fry the bacon in a large skillet until browned, remove bacon, leaving the pan drippings. Place bacon on a paper towel to remove excess grease.

In grease, add the shrimp. Cook until shrimp turn pink. Add lemon juice, chopped bacon, parsley, scallions and garlic. Saute for 3 minutes.

Spoon grits into a serving bowl. Add shrimp mixture and mix well. Serve immediately.

{Recipe from Martha Nesbitt on the Food Network Website}

Shrimp and Grits

2 thoughts on “Shrimp and Grits

Leave a Reply

