Cheaters Lemon Cheesecake

I have to start out by telling you that once during high school when I was making a chocolate chip cheesecake for a party, I mixed up the quantities of the cream cheese with the sour cream. It was a might tart cake. I think the only person who ate it was my father and it was only to make me not feel bad.

Lemon Cheesecake

Since then, I’ve learned my lesson and usually always pre-read recipes, just in case! Not sure if it helps or not, but I have never made that mistake again!

I started keeping a binder of recipes when I was in university from all of the recipes I printed off from on line or that I had received over the years. Since then, it’s now split into two recipe binders. One sweet, one savory. One of my best friends also has a binder with easy to look through tabs. While visiting her a few years back (October 2009 says the note on the bottom of the recipe), I can’t remember if she had made it and I wanted it or I came across it in her binder… either way, the recipe is now in my possession. *evil laugh*

Cake mix (minus 1 cup) with an egg and oil to form the crust

Cake mix (minus 1 cup) with an egg and oil to form the crust

Push the crust mix into a greased pan

Push the crust mix into a greased pan

After I received permission from her mother, where the recipe on my friend’s end originated, I found out it came from her mother’s sister and possibly from an advertisement in a magazine.

1 cup dry cake mix with the rest of the ingredients

1 cup dry cake mix with the rest of the ingredients

Top the crust when it comes out of the oven with cheesecake batter

Top the crust when it comes out of the oven with cheesecake batter

I went on line and could only find this similar one. I have not made it so I cannot comment how they compare.

Let cool completely before cutting

Let cool completely before cutting

What I can tell you, is that the recipe that I have is one of the easiest, quickest cheesecake recipes ever! So easy not to mess up! (*note to self…) Which is why I’ve dubbed it “Cheaters Lemon Cheesecake”.

Lemon Cheesecake

It’s a great recipe to cut into bars for potlucks or giveaways. Also, you can add whatever fruit coulis to the top that you’d like it! I like to eat it plain as it’s soooo good just as is, but I can see a nice raspberry coulis being delicious!

Lemon Cheesecake

Cheaters Lemon Cheesecake

Prep time: 15 minutes     Cook time: 40-50 minutes     Cool time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

1 box lemon cake mix (I use Moist Deluxe from Dunken Hines)

16 oz (2 packages) cream cheese, softened

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup sugar

3 eggs

1/3 cup oil

optional – fruit topping (pie filling would work)

Directions:

Measure 1 cup of dry cake mix and set aside.

Mix the remainder with 1 egg and oil until it forms a denser mixture. Grease pan and press mixture into the bottom evenly.

Bake for 10 minutes.

Combine the 1 cup of the dry mixture you had set aside with 2 eggs and remaining ingredients.

Beat on low speed for 2 minutes.

Once crust is out, carefully spread cream cheese mixture over crust.

Bake for 30 minutes. If can is smaller, creating a thicker cake, cook longer. You can check consistency with a toothpick or knife. Another trick is to wiggle the pan and see how firm the middle is.

Once baked completely, let cool completely before cutting and serving with optional fruit topping.

{Recipe from best friend’s mom’s sister’s possible magazine ad)

Cheesecake for breakfast is never a bad thing.

Cheesecake for breakfast is never a bad thing.

4 thoughts on “Cheaters Lemon Cheesecake

    • Hello Ema, only the ones I want to share make it on here. I have one chocolate chocolate cookie recipe that my husband is obsessed with that I’ll keep a surprise and hold on to it. Do you have any recipes you’d like to share? 🙂

Leave a Reply

