Italian Peach Cookies (Macedonian style)

HAPPY NEW YEAR! What better way to ring in the new year than a brand new lease on life and cookies. Cookies are a must, everyone knows that. But before I get into the actual blog post, I want to apologize for not being able to blog and share with you these last few months. I’ve had some difficult family illnesses and passings that hindered my ability to share wonderful recipes and restos with you all. However, we’re officially in a new year, so lets make it the best one yet!

The first recipe of the year I’d like to share with you is my friends friend Jackie M’s mothers Italian Peach Cookies, Macedonian style! When I was asked to assist in the baking of these, and being told they were quite difficult, I couldn’t wait to get my bake on as I relish in these types of challenges! I do have to tell you that they don’t taste like peaches at all, but more of an almond dense cookie with sweet apricot jam in the middle. I suppose you could substitute peach jam to make them more peachy….

After making the dough, 1 tablespoon is rolled out one by one. Here is the consistency of the dough.

Italian Peach Cookies   Italian Peach Cookies Italian Peach Cookies

Lise had these cookies for the first time at her friends wedding shower in Toronto, which makes sense as these cookies are really only made for special occasions. They are a lot of work, and well worth it. Especially if you get together a few friends to have a cookie making party.

After the cookies have baked, using a small pairing knife, the middles are taken out and mixed in to the jam to make it more into an adhesive. I tried to fill the holes as best I could, while ensuring that not much extra was seeping out.

Italian Peach CookiesItalian Peach Cookies Italian Peach Cookies

After all the cookies have been assembled, it’s time to get their peach colouring. I was hesitant at first and didn’t believe they would look like peaches, but to my surprise, they did!!

Italian Peach Cookies Italian Peach Cookies Italian Peach Cookies

Lise and I came up with an assembly line to colour and sugar the cookies. I put fine sugar in a glass so when she coloured the cookies she could drop them in and I would shake on the sugar.

Italian Peach Cookies Italian Peach Cookies Italian Peach Cookies

We couldn’t believe how aborbs (adorable) they looked! They tasted pretty good too! I brought a few into work and everyone loved them. My boss originally declined (trying to watch what she eats and all) but ended up sneaking into my cubicle 3 times to steal cookies while I was at a meeting!

Italian Peach Cookies Italian Peach Cookies

Thank you for all your love and support and following my blog! I wish you the very best for 2015. May this year be filled with lots of love, laughter, great good and awesome memories! Cheers ya’ll! Italian Peach Cookies

Italian Peach Cookies

Prep time: 25 minutes    Cook time: 15-20 minutes     Cool time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

4 eggs

1 cup granulated sugar

1 package vanilla sugar or 1 tsp vanilla or almond extract (optional)

1 cup vegetable oil

3 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup apricot jam

2 cups milk or almond milk, divided

red & yellow food colouring

2 cups fine sugar (or regular granulated sugar ground for 2 seconds)

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, whisk the first three ingredients together.

2. Add the oil, a little bit at a time. Set aside.

3. In a medium bowl, sift together 2.5 cups of flour and the baking powder.

4. Using a fork to incorporate, add the flour  to the egg mixture. Adding a little bit at time. Keep adding flour until you can roll a ball without the dough sticking to your hands. You may need the other half cup.

5. Once incorporated, preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.

6. Measuring out a tbsp, roll into balls and place on a parchment covered cookie sheet.

7. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Until the bottoms are just having colour. Let cool a few minutes so you can handle them.

8. Once cooled, carve a dime sized hole out of the bottom. Add the scrapings to the jam.

9. Match the cookie halves and stick them together using the jam. Making sure the holes are filled. *Sometimes it’s enough just to slightly over fill the holes for the cookies to stick together. There shouldn’t be much extra oozing out the sides.

10. After all the cookies are stuck together, you can begin to colour them. Heat up the two cups of milk (or almond milk) for about 15-20 seconds in the microwave. Add a few drops of yellow in one and red in the other. The red will be more pinkish, which is perfect for the peach colouring.

11. Set up the bowls in order, like an assembly line. Yellow milk, red milk, paper towel*, and then fine sugar. *Paper towel is used to tap the extra drops of milk off the cookies. This also hinders clumping of the sugar. You can start to dip the cookies and coating them. We found it worked best with two people. One person dips, the other coats with sugar.

12. Optional – You can add small mint leaves to make them look more like little peaches.

They will start to look like little peaches! Recipe makes about 20-25 cookies.

Enjoy!

{Recipe from my friends friend Jackie M’s mother}

6 thoughts on “Italian Peach Cookies (Macedonian style)

  1. Hey Jenn – what a great post! The pictures are fantastic and it brings back such great memories! I remember that we kept adding more flour!! It was time consuming, but so worth it! Seeing the pictures makes me want to whip up another batch! Are you up for it??? Lise

  2. These do look like a fair amount of work (I’ll have to put the recipe on my to-do list for when I have more time this summer!), but they turned out so beautifully! I bet they’re delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

