FOODIE PEN PAL – JULY 2014

Foodie Pen Pal

While clicking around on a blog I follow, Food to Glow, a post title caught my eye Special Delivery – My first Foodie Penpal Package. She described how the penpal program worked and how she was paired up with another foodie. They had shipped each other cool foodie packages!

I followed the link to the Coordinator of the Foodie Pen Pal program, Lindsay, from The Lean Green Bean who takes care of pairing up Canadian and American foodie participants. Carol Anne from Rock Salt, takes cake of the UK and Europe.

The program is open to all food blog readers and food bloggers alike! By the 5th of the  month, you receive your pen pal’s email address to be able to find out information that may help you decide what to put in your package. The package should be sent by 15th of the month.

I signed up and was paired with Deborah, from DeborahKuhnen.com. She’s absolutely delightful and we found that we have a little more in common than this foodie pen pal program. I look forward to keeping in touch with her. Since she has been a foodie pen pal before, she had a little questionnaire for me to complete. I ended up sending back the same questionnaire and added a few more questions for my curiosity 🙂 Check out her site to see what I sent!

Here is the thoughtful package I received (in the same box I sent her! Good thing mine arrived early as she was looking for a box for my items!)

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For my love of chocolate and spice and everything nice. Deborah and her husband’s favourite chocolate bar. Made in Poland. It disappeared pretty quickly from my box, that’s for sure. It tasted like a Terry’s Chocolate Orange with a spicy kick!

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For my love of coffee and chocolate. I found videos on youtube how to put this drink together as the instructions were in Polish. It was like a chocolate layered latte. Really good cold.

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For my obsession with flavoured teas. Deborah’s favourite tea. Raspberry, Cranberry and Rosehip. Very flavourful. Good both hot and cold. I’m so happy she shared this with me!

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For my love of all food with flavour. All good grains. Made in the USA. Looks pretty interesting. Looking forward to cooking up a pot of this! As big of a pot that it makes that is…

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For my love of spice. I love olives stuffed with garlic. So these are right up my alley! Can’t wait to take Deborah’s suggestion and add these to a pizza!

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For the fact I try and eat whole. This was the first package I opened from the box and the first one to disappear. These are 100% cheese, no fillers. They are salty and delicious. Perfect to garnish a salad or eat as is!

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For my love of sweet. I couldn’t stop eating these. Salted peanuts with yogurt-honey covered raisins. Yum!

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For my love of spice. I think my dad would love these! Hope he doesn’t mind a half eaten bag… if it lasts that long…

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

Eep! For my love of spice! These peanuts were interesting. Peanuts with dried sliced chilis!

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

For my love of sweet and interesting. Deborah’s husband’s favourite candy from Holland called Jodenvet. It’s a hard old fashioned candy that starts off with a soft sweet flavour and then turns into a sour bitter taste. They definitely grow on you, that’s for sure. There’s none left!

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

COFFEE CANDIES. Need I saw more?

I’d like to thank Deborah again for the thoughtful package! I’m looking forward to signing up again in the future. Probably in September. What are the chances we’d get paired together again? Hmm….

Foodie Pen Pal - July 2014

4 thoughts on “FOODIE PEN PAL – JULY 2014

  1. Pingback: FOODIE PEN PAL – JANUARY 2015 | Bake and Be Merry

  2. Pingback: FOODIE PEN PAL – FEBRUARY 2015 | Bake and Be Merry

Leave a Reply

