Easy Coconut Macaroons

My sister in law (my SIL) makes THE BEST coconut macaroons. I’m not a fan of coconut, so that is a big statement! I like coconut flavour, it’s more of the textural thing I’m not a fan of. However, my husband turned me on to them when he requested that I try to make them.

Easy Coconut Macaroons

Easy Coconut Macaroons Easy Coconut Macaroons

The first time I made them, they were perfect. The second time, I think I had a freak batch, they melted (???) Every time after that, it’s been a perfect batch! With only 3 ingredients, they are one of the easiest quickest cookies ever!20140611-203450-74090907.jpg Easy Coconut Macaroons

I whipped these up for a friend of mine who asked if I wouldn’t mind baking some sweet treats for her husbands surprise party. Tomorrow is her tasting, and out of the 3 other goodies I’ve made so far, they’ve all been a hit. Here’s hoping for number 4! (I think they’ll be a winner as my husband has already eaten two!)

Easy Coconut MacaroonsThe other goodies she specifically requested include the Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart, The Oh So Easy Energy Bites, Peanut Butter Banana “Ice Cream” Bites and Flour-less Walnut Cookies. (coming soon)

Easy Coconut Macaroons

Easy Coconut Macaroons

Easy Coconut Macaroons

Prep time: 5 minutes     Cook time: 10-12 minutes     Cool time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

2 bags of sweetened coconut flakes (12 oz-14 oz each)

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Mix all ingredients in a medium size bowl.

Using a tablespoon drop the mixture onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

Place a filled cookie sheet into the over for 10-12 minutes. Edges and bottoms should be starting to brown.

They will harden a little more while they cool.

Makes about 40 cookies.

Easy Coconut Macaroons

 

 

6 thoughts on “Easy Coconut Macaroons

    • Thanks Nancy! I honestly don’t like coconut but love these! I have some in the freezer too as a friend requested I save her some when she comes to visit in a a few weeks!

  1. I have a thing with textures too (hubby calls it idiosyncrasy): I simply adore coconut milk/cream/water but I’m not a fan of coconut flakes or flesh. Same goes with pumpkin: I like it mashed not cubed. I have never made macaroons but I never knew they were so easy to make 😉

    • I’ve seen the toasted coconut big flakes at the store and can’t bring myself to buy them as a snack, as they’re so popular right now. These and Nanaimo bars are pretty much the only coconut things I like. Oh, and piña coladas of course! 🙂

Leave a Reply

