Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

It’s not very often I actually do the recipes in the magazines I get. Every month, I tab the recipes that look interesting and that I could possible get into, but once that magazine closes, I completely forget about the specific recipes I’ve tabbed. This one was different. When I found it, I was almost done Whole30 and I had all these ingredients already at my disposal. I just had to blend them together. So there was really no excuse!

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

I’ve made this recipe a few times now and have played around with the different almonds available. I’ve used unsalted dry roasted and salted dry roasted. Seems like there wasn’t much of a difference. When whirling them around in the food processor, you will have to scrape the sides… and the bottom once or twice. It will almost turn into almond butter or paste.

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

Once the paste forms (it might not form a ball as the recipe calls for), I add the rest of the ingredients. The original recipe doesn’t call for salted pepitas, but it was all I had the first time. I feel like the saltiness rounds out the sweetness of the dates and cranberries. As well, I used apple juice sweetened cranberries as opposed to the sugar sweetened ones.

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

They go for a spin for another 5ish minutes until a ball does start to form. The mixture will vary in colour depending on the dried fruits used. See the ingredient list for my adaption for my friends birthday energy balls I made.

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

These bars are so simple to make and they are so addictive, that I guarantee you won’t be missing that chocolate bar. Perfect for an afternoon snack around 3 o’clock when we usually all hit that energy wall at work.

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

It was my colleagues birthday this week, and when it’s someone’s birthday in the office one of many of us will bake a cake or make some treats. This time, this particular colleague didn’t want a cake. She wanted these. I can’t blame her as they are pretty darn delicious!

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

I made them into individual bite sized portions using a tablespoon as the mold and a mini muffin/cupcake pan to hold the mini liners. The ladies in the office came back for seconds and thirds!

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

 

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

Prep time: 15 minutes     Cook time: n/a    Cool time: 1 hour

Ingredients:

1 cup toasted whole almonds (I use dry roasted)

1 cup salted pepitas (pumpkin seeds)

1 cup dried cranberries (or a mixture of dried cherries and dried blueberries)

1 cup chopped pitted dates (I use Medjool dates)

Directions:

In a food processor, whirl the whole almonds scraping down the sides if needed, until paste starts to form into a ball. About 5-6 minutes.

Add the pepitas, dried cranberries and dates. Whirl together until well combined about 5 minutes more. It will form a ball.

In a plastic wrap lined loaf pan, press the mixture down firmly. Cover with more plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm. About 1 hour or over night for best results.

Remove from pan and cut into 10 bars. Keep in a covered container in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.

*For the individual energy bites below, I used a tablespoon as the mold and placed them into mini cupcake wrappers. I pressed a pepita into the top and put them in the fridge.

Nutritional info per bar when cut into 10 equal bars: 249 calories, 7 grams protein, 30 grams carbs, 14 grams fat, 4 grams fibre

{Recipe adapted from Chatelaine April 2014}

Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

One thought on “Oh-So-Easy Energy Bars

  1. Pingback: Easy Coconut Macaroons | Bake and Be Merry

Leave a Reply

