Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Even though we’re not eating baked goods for at least another week, I’ve still been jonesing to be in the kitchen to make something sweet! What a good opportunity than for friends! Especially friends who are having a hard time recovering from surgery.

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

I’ve already made my friend my top secret chocolate chocolate chip cookies and almond butter cookies. In the package with the almond butter cookies, I added a few of these too! My husband, who is also doing the Whole 30 thing with me, ate like 4 of them! Cheater! haha, I forgave him this time, but was jealous that actually ate them and I resisted!

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

As you can see, I did it the old fashioned way with a wooden spoon and bowl. I really got my work in with this one! The dough ends up forming a dense ball. I used my hands to fold in the cranberries and almonds.

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

The original recipe called for pistachios, but I believe my friend is allergic to those as well, so almonds it is! I definitely didn’t hear any complaints from any of my taste testers! I chopped up some of the almonds, but decided to leave them whole as they would be cut when the biscotti was cut. I think next time I would chop just a little more to make it easier to cut through. And now I know!

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

When I was forming them into the logs to be baked, I thought that these would be smaller biscotti, however once I took them out of the oven, I knew otherwise.

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

After cutting them, they go back on the tray and into the oven to dry out a little more which gives biscotti that wonderful crunchiness in order to be able to dunk into tea or coffee.

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Prep time: 15-20 minutes    Cook time: approx 45 minutes     Cool time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

1/4 cup light olive oil

3/4 cup white sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

2 eggs

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1 1/2 cups whole almonds

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C).

In a large bowl, mix together oil and sugar until well blended. Mix in the vanilla and almond extracts, then beat in the eggs. Combine flour, salt, and baking powder; gradually stir into egg mixture. Mix in cranberries and nuts by hand.

Divide dough in half. Form two logs (12×2 inches) on a cookie sheet that has been lined with parchment paper. Dough may be sticky; wet hands with cool water to handle dough more easily.

Bake for 35 minutes in the preheated oven, or until logs are light brown. Remove from oven, and set aside to cool for 10 minutes. Reduce oven heat to 275 degrees F (135 degrees C).

Cut logs on diagonal into 3/4 inch thick slices. Lay on sides on parchment covered cookie sheet. Bake approximately 8 to 10 minutes, or until dry; cool.

 

{Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com}

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Leave a Reply

