Awesome Spicy Taco Seasoning

I’m not sure I told you yet, but my husband and I started a 30 day nutritional challenge called Whole 30 and while he’s on board about the meat and vegetables, he’s happy just cooking them as they are and eating them. Quick and painless… of painful, for this foodie. Just because we’re trying to get back on track, doesn’t mean flavour has to go out the window!

image

1 tbsp chili powder

That being said, I’m the one that has to do all the research of recipes. I’m not complaining, as this means I’ll get to cook what I want, and what I want is Turkey Taco Bowls!

image

1/4 tsp garlic powder

My friends a few years ago had me over for dinner and served what they called Taco Bowl. It was essentially everything you would put on a taco except on a bed of rice, and instead of lettuce, used spinach. Beef, tomatoes, cheese, salsa etc… it was delicious! I started doing it at home as well. But you know those recipes that sometimes get forgotten, like that old t-shirt that gets stuck at the back of a drawer that gets found once a year and you act like you just won the lottery when you find it?

image

1/4 tsp onion powder

So now, on this Whole 30 nutritional challenge thing, there are of course a few no-no rules. One of them is sugar. In most taco seasoning packets, is added sugar and a whole bunch of other things that I can’t always pronounce. So I did some research and came across this beaut of a recipe!

image

1/4 tsp chili flakes

This taco seasoning is spicy and very flavourful without being over bearing. It had just the right amount of heat for me. If you don’t like things too spicy, you can omit the chili flakes and chili powder, or just put less.

image

1/2 tsp dried oregano

image

1/2 tsp paprika

This recipe is perfect with any meat you’d like to use for tacos. It gives ground turkey a lot of help, since turkey doesn’t really have much flavour like beef.

image

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

image

1 tsp sea salt & 1 tsp pepper

I keep my homemade spices in small mason jars. I sometimes double up the recipes just in case I need to use more while cooking. Plus it keeps them fresh longer due to their seal-ability. At least, that’s what I think 🙂

image

Awesome Spicy Taco Seasoning

Prep time: 5 minutes    Cook time: n/a    Cool time: n/a

Ingredients:

1 tbsp chili powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp crush red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp paprika

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp black pepper

Directions:

In a small air tight container, mix together all the ingredients.

This recipe makes about 1 oz (3 tbsp) worth of mix. Good for one recipe of tacos!

{Recipe from Allrecipes}

Leave a Reply

