Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart

This past weekend my friend hosted an early Valentines party for some lady friends. It turned into a small potluck of 15 women and the theme was Pink/Red. Whatever food item we were to bring had to have a pink or red component. Let alone dressing in those colours. I wore a nice pair of slacks, with a black silky shirt that had beautiful red flowers with a bourgandy cardigan. I looked pretty good if I do say so myself… ahem… anyways, I was originally go to bring a baked brie with a cranberry-garlic-rum preserve with dried cranberries and pecans on top, but then I was requested to bring dessert. Perfect. My specialty. Now… what do I make that is red?

Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart

I’ve made Red Velvet Brownies before but I wanted to do something a little more, upscale. It is a ladies dinner after all. I decided I was going to make a chocolate tart. I’ve made it before in the past, and once before for a potluck where I was told that I bought it. That made me feel on top of the world! 20140208_085239

20140208_085304

I love it when a plan comes together. Until I saw the Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart recipe. It just so happened that the friend whose party it was, loooooooves salted caramel anything. Like I was saying, I love it when a plan comes together 🙂 and guess what?? I had recently picked up some Pink Himalayan salt from the new Cardamom & Cloves spice shop on Preston. Therein lies my “pink” component. Plus I added some raspberries around the plate. 

20140208_090213

This recipe is pretty simple if you have patience. Shortbread crust topped with a salted caramel layer followed by a chocolate layer.

20140208_093019

To make the caramel, do not stir the sugar. Let it bubble and get happy in the pan. You will see results soon enough.

20140208_091108 20140208_092346 20140208_092536

One side will always get darker before the other. Do not stir. What you can do is twirl the pan a little bit spreading the colour around the pan so it evenly turns to amber, as opposed to one spot burning. No one likes burnt caramel.

20140208_092629

Another thing to remember, is to take the amber sugar off the element before adding the cream as it will expand and spatter. Stir quickly as it could clump.

20140208_092757

Pour into your cooled tart shell and place in the fridge to firm up. This will ensure that it doesn’t mix with the chocolate layer.

20140208_093641 20140208_110257

To make the chocolate layer is even simpler than the caramel layer. The best chocolate you can find (I’m using dark Callebaut), either in chip form or chopped up, placed into a heat proof bowl, pour hot cream on it, and voila! Chocolate layer!

20140208_103554 20140208_104713 20140208_104848

To finish it off, and make it silky smooth, I added a little more salt and some butter!

20140208_104905 20140208_160828

Everyone at the Valentine party loved it! Especially my friend! The next day I sent over my thank yous for the invite and thanked her for the fun, and she thanked me for bringing the tart! 🙂 I even saved a sliver for my husband for the next day and he thanked me for the best breakfast ever! haha. 

20140208_162852

Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart

Prep time: 30 minutes     Cook time: 1 hour     Cool time: 2.5 hours

Ingredients:

Crust:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 tbsp granulated sugar

1/2 cup cold unsalted butter, diced

1 egg yolk

Filling:

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup water

1 1/2 cups 35% cream, divided

1 1/4 tsp pink salt (or sea salt), divided

1 1/4 cups 70% dark chocolate, chopped or chips

2 tsp unsalted butter, diced

Directions:

Position rack in centre of oven. Preheat to 350 degrees F. Place a 9-in. tart pan with 1  1/8-in. sides and a removable bottom on a baking sheet.

In a medium bowl, combine flour with 2 tbsp sugar. Using your fingers, mix 1/2 cup butter into flour mixture until crumbly and pea size. Stir in egg yolk and mix until the dough comes together into a ball.

Transfer dough to centre of prepared tart pan. Press dough from middle of pan to edges. Using fingertips, press dough up edges of pan until even with rim. Prick pastry with a fork, then line with parchment or foil. Add pie weights or dry beans. Bake in centre of oven for 20 min, then remove parchment and pie weights and continue baking until lightly browned, about 10 min. Set aside to cool slightly, about 10 min.

Combine 1 cup sugar and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil over high. Do not stir and the sugar will start to crystallize on the sides. Continue boiling just until it turns a light amber. You may gently swirl the pot to distribute the amber colour which will appear in about 5 to 10 min. Remove from heat and stir in 1/2 cup cream and 3/4 tsp salt until smooth. Pour into warm pastry and refrigerate until caramel is firm, about 20 min.

Place chocolate in a heat proof medium bowl. Pour remaining 1 cup cream into a small saucepan and set over medium. Bring just to a boil. Pour over chocolate and wait a few seconds before stirring to allow chocolate to come to temperature for easy melting. Stir until no streaks remain and chocolate is smooth. Stir in 2 tsp butter and 1/4 tsp salt until glossy and all salt has dissolved. Let cool to room temperature, 10 min.

Scrape chocolate over caramel and refrigerate until firm, about 2 hours.

Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 tsp salt. Cut and enjoy!

{Recipe from Chatelaine}

Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart

7 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart

  1. Pingback: Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus | Bake and Be Merry

  2. Pingback: Cardamom & Cloves | Bake and Be Merry

  3. Pingback: Easy Coconut Macaroons | Bake and Be Merry

Leave a Reply

