Chocolate Cupcakes for 2 – Version 1

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO ME! My Blogiversary to be exact! BakeAndBeMerry.Wordpress.com! Thank you to all my followers as this day is because of you! You are the reason that I am still here sharing what I love the most. Food. To celebrate, I wanted to do something special but not go too crazy… or more crazy than I already am. In the past, when my husband and I have had sweet tooths, but didn’t want to go over board, I would make chocolate cupcakes. However, these recipes only make exactly 2 chocolate cupcakes. Perfect serving without the guilt of 22 more cupcakes staring back to you.Β These are perfect for Valentine’s day with your sweetie or perfect for the kids as they’re pretty quick and easy!

This time, I couldn’t make up my mind which chocolate cupcake recipe for 2 I wanted to try, so I made both! Making 4 cupcakes. My husband and I only ate 2 and I brought the other two to work for voting as to which was going to be posted on the blog. It’s amazing how two chocolate cupcakes got cut up between 16ish people!

In the end, it was pretty much 50/50 with a few comments of one icing be being better with the other cupcake and vice versa. As they both got such a high rating and they are both completely different, I will share both of them with you so you can do your own voting.

Below is Version 1. Click HERE for VERSION 2. Feel free to switch the icings between the two depending on your preferences.

Let me know which one you like best! πŸ™‚

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes for 2

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

3 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons cocoa powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda (just eyeball half of a quarter-teaspoon and it will be fine)
pinch of salt
2 tablespoons cold water
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
few small drops of vanilla
1 tablespoon chocolate chips (optional)

Frosting:

1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon + 2 teaspoons cocoa powder
3 tablespoons confectioners sugar
1 teaspoon milk or cream
dash of salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

In a small bowl, whisk all the dry ingredients together. In the same bowl (or second one to mix together first) add the wet ingredients. Whisk well.

Divide batter between two cupcake liners and sprinkle with chocolate chips.

Bake for 18 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. Allow to cool before frosting.

While the cupcakes are baking, melt the butter in a small bowl.

Add all the remaining ingredients to the butter and whisk to combine. Refrigerate for 10-15 minutes or until frosting is partially set. Whisk again then allow to rest at room temperature until cupcakes are cool enough to frost. Enj0y!

{Recipe from the Manhattan Craft Room}

Chocolate Cupcakes for 2 - Version 1 20140127_204941 20140127_205309 20140127_205631 20140127_210004 20140127_210157 20140127_210423 20140127_211313 20140127_214250 20140127_214332 20140127_214337

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes for 2 – Version 1

    • Thanks Johnny! I’m so excited to see what delicious things will turn up in this next year! One cupcake is rich and dense while the other is fluffier and lighter πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

