Stuffed Pizza Skulls

It’s Halloween today! and a Happy Halloween to you! Some of the girls at work wanted to put together a party, a potluck party. I knew exactly what I wanted to make – Cookies. However, I was told it should be “spooky”, plus a few people had already signed up for sweets. Not normally eating spooky items, other than raw vegetables, I took this as a challenge.

image

I did a search on Pinterest and so many gross options came up. Fingers, brains, pumpkins vomiting… just ew. After a few minutes of scrolling through, I stumbled across these spooky 3D Stuffed Pizza Skulls by Beth on Hungry Happenings. I quickly did a local search for the 3D Mini Skull Cake Pan, but I couldn’t find it. I eventually found it on-line for a reasonable price on the Futureshop and BestBuy websites for the same price, obviously.

image

These skulls turned out to be pretty easy! I can’t wait to try and make an actual cakes with this pan!

image

image

Depending how you cut the scraps of dough off, you will be able to either make other skulls or just mini pizzas. I cut mine in strips and was able to glue a few strips together with the egg wash. The skull came out without seams, surprisingly and in the end, you couldn’t tell which one was which. 🙂

image

image

Stuffed Pizza Skulls

Makes 4 skulls

Prep time: 15 minutes     Cook time: 18-20 minutes     Cool time: 5-10 minutes

Ingredients:

2 canisters of Pillsbury Pizza Dough (or homemade)

Pizza toppings (I copied Beth and used mini pepperonis)

6 tbsp pizza sauce

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1 beaten egg

Directions:

Butter or Pam the inside of the 4 skull faces.

Open the canisters of pizza dough, unroll and cut in half, creating four rectangles.

One skull at a time, place a dough rectangle down into a skull face making sure to leave enough dough to close the opening.

Place 1.5 tbsp of pizza sauce in the skull, as many toppings as you’d like, I used about 1 tbsp of pepperonis, and a 1/4 cup of shredded mozzarella.

Cut off excess dough and using the egg wash as glue, fold over the edges to close up the back.

Once all skulls have been closed up, egg wash the tops and place in the fridge to firm up for 20-30 minutes. This will ensure the egg holds the dough together.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Let cool a few minutes before biting or cutting into one and enjoy!

image

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Pizza Skulls

  1. Your skulls look great. It is so good to know that you can “glue” the dough scraps together and the skulls still look great. I made mini pizzas out of my dough, mostly because I was hungry and wanted some lunch. I didn’t try to use the scraps for the skulls and am so happy to know that it worked so well. I hope all the girls at work enjoy your addition to the potluck. Have a Happy Halloween.

    Beth @ Hungry Happenings

Leave a Reply

