Spiced Apple Cake

Soooo remember when I went apple picking and took home about 50 apples from the orchard? Well, this is now one of my favorite apple cake recipes that I have come across to get these apples eaten! It’s so flavourful and it’s light and moist. It matched perfectly with coffee 🙂 In this specific cake, I used McIntosh’s and LOBO’s.

image

After all the apples I’ve ever had to peel, I prefer using a pairing knife. As a kid, I watched my mother use a pairing knife and never understood how she never cut herself. Now that I’m older and obviously have tons of practice with a knife, I get it. More control. 🙂

image

This is my idea of a rough chop. You can chop yours fine or keep it chunkier like mine. It’s all about preference.

image

image

I love the feeling of cake flour. So silky and fine.

image

After 10 minutes, the sugar turns into more of liquid and each piece of apple is covered in glistening goodness.

image

image

image

I had to hold back, but I soooo could have kept swiping my finger in that batter.

image

I used my new pan I got at Canada’s Baking and Sweet Show last weekend. I could have used an 8″ pan but I couldn’t resist. It’s been staring at me…plus it makes the perfect single size to take to work for breakfast with my coffee.

image

image

image

image

Spiced Apple Cake

Prep time: 20 minutes     Cook time: 50-55 minutes     Cool time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

4-5 medium apples

1 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups cake flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 to 1/2 salt

1 to 2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp allspice

1/2 cup melted butter, slightly cooled

1 egg

(optional) 1/2 cup raisins

(optional) 1/2 cup chopped nuts

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees F.

Peel and core apples, coarsely chop and put into a large bowl. Add sugar and let stand 10 minutes.

Sift flour, baking soda, salt and spices you wish to use.

Blend butter and egg into apple mixture.

Add sifted dry ingredients, stirring just until blended.

Fold in raisins and/or chopped nuts if using.

Pour into greased 8″ or 9″ square pan. Bake for 50-55 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Cool. Remove from pan, dust over with icing sugar before serving (optional)

{Original recipe from Lillian Kaplun‘s For the love of Baking}

image

Leave a Reply

