Rangoon

logo rangoonEver since Anthony Bourdain’s Parts Unknown Mynamar (Burma) aired a few months back, my husband and I were dying to try Rangoon Restaurant. I ended up trying it without him as my colleague took me there for my birthday.  Poor guy! He missed out!

image

My colleague and I ordered the set Dinner Combo A for 2 people. Let me tell you, it was the right amount of food and super delicious! First course was lentil soup! Yum!

image

The spring roll came with the most delicious mint sauce. I wish I could buy it in the bottle it was that good! It had a further depth with cumin and other spices.

image

As bizarre sounding as this salad sounds, Green Tea Leaf Salad, it was truly scrumptious. It is traditional Burmese appetizer. Marinated tea leaves tossed with lettuce, tomato, roasted garlic, topped with peanuts, broad beans, peas and sesame seeds. Not a scrap of lettuce was left on the plate.
image

The Chicken Curry was moist and succulent which was served with jasmine rice and a vegetable medley.

image

For dessert, there is the option of mango ice cream or green tea cake. As you can see, I chose the cake. Nice and light and not super sweet.

image

I can’t wait to go back and try the other delicious things on the menu, and maybe this time, I’ll bring the husband.

Rangoon is located on the South East Corner of O’Connor and Gloucester.

Rangoon Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

