Extra Mini Watermelon Key Lime Jello Shooters

This past weekend was my birthday and I wanted something different to serve as an accompaniment to the other offerings that were available. I got this idea last minute (the night before) and I was on a mission! I originally heard about them from a friend of mine, Meaghan, who you met when we made the Oreo Macarons. She had them at her parents in laws house a few weeks earlier and said they were delicious!

image

She explained that they used real limes, which is what I was gearing up to buy, except the store was sold of limes… does that even happen??? So I picked up a few bags of key limes. I figured they were the perfect size anyway. I used a grapefruit spoon to assist in taking out the middles.
image

I used a mini muffin tin to hold the empty key lime shells while I poured in the watermelon jello mixture.

image

In order to pour the mixture into the key lime shells, I used a tea pot with a napkin wrapped around the spout. Worked perfectly!

image

They were a big hit! I obviously didn’t have any left over! 🙂 Cheers!

image

image

Extra Mini Watermelon Key Lime Jello Shooters

Prep time: 1 hour     Cook time: 8 minutes     Cool time: Overnight

Ingredients:

1-2 bags of key limes

1 box watermelon jello mix

1 cup vodka

1 cup boiling water

Directions:

Wash all the key limes and cut in half lengthwise.

Using a grapefruit spoon, scoop out the insides. Wash the key lime shells and dry thoroughly. Place the key lime shells in the mini cupcake pan or another pan to keep them still.

In a medium bowl, mix together the watermelon jello mix, boiling water and vodka. Stir until all jello crystals are dissolved.

Add mixture to a tea pot or a vessel with a spout and fill up the key lime shells to the top.

Gently place in the fridge over night to set up.

The next day you will have individual sized extra mini watermelon jello shooters. Enjoy! 
Watermelon jello shooters

Leave a Reply

