Lemon Rosemary Scones

Since I was a little girl, my Dad’s friend would always bring over fresh scones. As much as I loved them, in my eyes, they had a downfall. Raisins. I would eat the whole scone and pick out those pesky raisins. More for my Dad I suppose.
image

Last year, for our wedding, once we received attendance cards in the mail, we sent guests a confirmation email with directions and different things to do in the city if they were from our of town . This also allowed guests to have a way to get in touch with us, if they should have any questions.
image

My email to my Dad’s friend had all the directions, things to see and do and the most important question of them all. If he wouldn’t mind sharing his beloved scone recipe that I have loved since I was a kid.
image

He happily sent it over and I was ecstatic! I filed it under my recipes folder for safe keeping to bake after the wedding. It has now been almost a year since the wedding and it just came to me that I really have to make them!
image

I got the perfect opportunity when my friend Meaghan came over a few weeks ago to make the oreo macarons! She came over pretty early so I wanted to make sure she had something in her tummy before we started on our macaron journey.

So now, the original recipe calls for raisins and as I’m not fond of them in my baked goods, I originally swapped them out for raspberries! So fruity and scrumptious. The raspberries did make the dough wetter, so I made sure to flour my work surface and flour the dough before rolling. It did the trick and they came out perfect with a little egg yolk wash on top.

image

I had the urge to make another batch but didn’t have enough raspberries. I looked around the kitchen and saw a lemon and I pulled out some fresh rosemary. Let me tell you, the end result was a beautiful savoury scone which was perfect for any time of day. D-licious!

Lemon Rosemary Scones

Perfect warm with some cream cheese.

My husband, who doesn’t like scones, ate these no problem!

Lemon Rosemary Scones

Prep time: 5 minutes     Cook time: 25-30 minutes     Cool time: Eat right away or eat the next day!

Ingredients:

4 oz room temperature unsalted butter
4 oz sugar
1 pound (16 oz) flour
2 eggs
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
milk or greek yogurt as needed

zest of a lemon

2 tbsp finely chopped fresh rosemary

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350° and move rack to one level lower than the middle.

Cream together the sugar and butter.  Add the flour, eggs, baking powder, lemon zest and rosemary and mix until combined. Add milk or greek yogurt 1 tbsp at a time until the mixture is thick but pliable and roll into a ball.

Flour the countertop or cutting board and roll out the ball with a rolling pin preferably a wooden one. Do not completely flatten the mixture as it needs to rise at the right temperature in the oven. About 1.5”-2” thick. You might need to flour the tops slightly to stop the rolling pin from sticking.

You can use a cutter or just slice dough and place on a tray with a silicon mat or greased parchment paper.

(Optional: Egg yolk wash the tops of the scones. Perfect for sweet scones).

Place the tray in the oven and bake for 7 minutes. After the 7 minutes, turn the temperature down to 325°F and bake for another 8-10 minutes. Minimal colour will take place.

When ready take them out of the oven, they will still be a little soft and place on a rack to cool or eat right away with butter or cream cheese!

 

One thought on “Lemon Rosemary Scones

  1. Pingback: Ottawa Streat Gourmet | Bake and Be Merry

Leave a Reply

