Quinoa Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

One day this week at work, my colleague brought in chocolate chip cookies that looked a little funny. After she told me the main ingredient was quinoa, I was excited to try them! Unfortunately it’s not an ingredient that gets utilized much in my kitchen. It usually stays in it’s container for awhile.
imageThey were awesome! Chewy and sometimes crunchy with a wonderful flavour!
image
I decided that I was going to try to make them as they seemed simple enough.
image
image
I tried to form quinoa balls out of the mixture but I found that it got really messy with sticky quinoa everywhere. The second round, I decided to compress it into a mini muffin pan. They came out as perfect bite sized cookies!
image

My husband ended up eating 6 of them in one sitting!

Quinoa Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Prep time: 5 minutes     Cook time: 20 minutes     Cool time: 1 hour

Ingredients:

2 cups cooled cooked quinoa
1/2 cup peanut butter
3 tbsp maple syrup
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup shredded coconut
2 oz chopped bakers semi-sweet chocolate (2 squares)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients. For baking, there are two options. I prefer Option A as it doesn’t get as messy.

Option A: In a greased mini muffin pan, fill cups and put in the oven for 20-25 minutes.

Option B: Shape into small balls and place on a greased baking sheet. Put in the oven for 20-25 minutes until the bottoms are browned.

{Original recipe found on Gluten Free Country}

One thought on “Quinoa Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Black Bean Quinoa “Burgers” | Bake and Be Merry

Leave a Reply

