Perfect Stove Top Rice

I always used to use a rice cooker. I would put in my 2 cups rice and my 4 cups of water, put the lid on and push the button. When the button clicked, it was ready! However, there was always rice stuck to the bottom. After a few years, my rice cooker finally decided it had enough.

I was distraught, I didn’t know how to make rice in a pot! I think I might have actually made rice soup one by accident! I was pondering getting a new one when my husband, at that time boyfriend, said he would make it stove top for me. I thought for sure he’d burn it. Nope! It came out better than the cooker!

**Remember that the ratios are 2 waters to 1 rice, 4 waters to 2 rice, and so on.

Easy directions:

If you are making one cup of rice, bring two cups of water to a boil – roaring boil preferably.  Once the water is boiling, add the cup of rice. Stir so all the rice is covered by the water. Leaving the pot on the element, turn off the heat and place the lid on the pot. Put a timer on for 20 minutes.

After 20 minutes, you have fluffy rice!

Option: Play around with the types of liquid you use, instead of water. For coconut rice, use coconut milk.

image

Leave a Reply

