Strawberry Avocado Salad

I must admit, I don’t always get to my pint or two of strawberries as fast as I should. I’m not even sure why I procrastinate on them because as soon as I eat them, I’m automatically happy and think to myself “what took so long for me to get to these, these are delicious!?” every time!
image
image
image

So it happened again this past weekend. There was a double pint box of strawberries in my fridge, not being touched with guilt trip written all over them. What would help me move a little faster? A new recipe of course! I’ve heard of strawberries mixed with avocados before so I went on a hunt on my new found love, pinterest. I knew I wanted something chunky… that should narrow it down. Not so much. It took some searching the ingredient lists to make me decide. And oh boy, was I ever happy with the outcome!
image
image
This will for sure become our new summer salad staple! It’s quick, easy and everything is pretty much on hand.
image

Strawberry Avocado Salad

Prep time: 10 minutes     Cook time: 0     Cool time: Ready to eat right away!

Ingredients

2 cups washed, de-stemmed, chopped strawberries
1 chopped ripe avocado
1/3 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup diced fresh cilantro
Zest and juice from 1 lime

to taste, salt and pepper

Directions

Combine all ingredients into a small to medium sized bowl. Serve.

3 Options: a) Some recipes call for sugar, I find the strawberries sweet enough, but you could add 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of sugar. b) As well, for some heat, you could throw in some diced jalapeno. c) You can sub Mint for the Cilantro!
image

{Adapted from A Hint of Honey}

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Avocado Salad

Leave a Reply

