Brownie in a Mug

When we think of microwaves,  we think of heating up frozen dinners or left overs, not baking brownies! However, this recipe is well worth trying! Especially if you have a chocolate craving.

20130223_215813

I’ve tried quite a few brownie in a mug and microwavable brownie recipes and this is by far the best one I’ve come across. I’ve tried vegan ones, without butter, milk or eggs. It was good but I always felt like it was missing something! The dairy! Then I tried one that had eggs which made two mugs worth. It came out OK, but slightly on the eggy side.

20130225_200223

My brother was over this past weekend and was craving something chocolaty after the delicious dinner we had made, Ginger-Lime Chicken with Coconut Rice. I said give me 2 minutes and you shall have a chocolate treat.

20130225_200302

I swapped out half the caster sugar for vanilla sugar. It made the chocolate have a depth that turned out to be superb! If you don’t have vanilla sugar, you can just use regular caster sugar Vanilla sugar should be available in packets in your local grocery store or you can make it if you have a vanilla bean.

20130225_200411

Needless to say, when it came out of the microwave, like every good chef, I tasted it before serving.  He almost didn’t get his mug! I almost ate the whole thing. So before he caught me, I added a few small scoops of chocolate ice cream and VOILA! Brownie in a mug à la mode!

20130225_200508

20130225_200730

Brownie in a Mug

Prep time: 1 minute    Cook time: 1 to 1.5 minutes     Cool time: 1 to 2 minutes

Ingredients:

¼ cup melted butter

2 tbsp water

¼ tsp vanilla

Pinch of salt

2 tbsp vanilla sugar

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp cocoa powder

4 tbsp all-purpose flour

Directions:

Grab a thick mug, usually mugs that are the same size from top to bottom work best. Mix together butter, water, vanilla and salt.

Add both sugars, cocoa powder. Mix until combined. Mix in flour.

Microwave for 1 to 1.5 minutes. It’s OK if brownie is slightly gooey, there is no egg in the recipe. However, if you like your brownie well cooked, just add some time to the microwave  but be careful not to over cook.

Add desired ice cream and enjoy!

20130223_221225

{Adapted from the recipe found on Food.com}

6 thoughts on “Brownie in a Mug

  1. Ok, just made my first brownie in a mug. So amazing yet soooo unnecessary. I even topped it with a spoonful of PB……mmmmmm

Leave a Reply

