Toffee Bark

Now the word “bark” in itself is not appealing at all. But when you smother it with rich buttery toffee and cover it in chocolate and nuts, the word “bark” doesn’t even matter because – this recipe is wicked awesome!

20130203_144701

This might be your new addiction if you ever make it. It’s fast and easy and great to take to potlucks or bring to work to torture your colleagues, like I did.

20130203_122734

I tried to make actual candy toffee before switching to this recipe. So it turns out candy making with or without a candy thermometer is time consuming and hard. I burnt the first batch, second batch was too soft and third batch separated on me. In the end, the candy thermometer broke in the sink when being washed. I guess my underlying frustrations came out 😦

20130203_123819

Good thing I had this recipe on hand, super easy and didn’t burn one bit!

20130203_123950

I promise my pictures will get better over time.

It was a big hit at my friends Superbowl party last weekend (where I ended up losing a dollar bet to my father in law)! 

There was a little tub left over, so I brought it to work the next day to share with my co-workers, as that’s what co-workers do. Try and ruin the others diets and resolutions. Not on purpose of course, it just happens as we’re in an office with lots of bakers.

20130203_124203

I had colleagues coming to my desk 3 or 4 times that day just to grab some more pieces of bark! Even had people admit that they snuck a few while I was in a meeting. I don’t even think there were crumbs left in the Tupperware by mid-afternoon!

20130203_212538

You can add any type of nut to the top. The original recipe that was given to me by my mother in law (below) calls for walnuts, which I’m not a huge fan of, so I added sliced almonds instead.

I also substituted bakers chocolate for the chips.

Toffee Bark

Prep time: 5 minutes     Cook time: 11 minutes     Cool time: 2 hours

Ingredients:

1 sleeve of graham crackers (approx. 35 crackers)

2 sticks of butter (1 cup)

1 cup dark brown sugar, packed

12oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup finely chopped walnuts

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet roughly 15×10 with foil. Dull side up.

Place whole graham crackers side by side on the pan, making a single layer.

Melt the butter and sugar in a sauce pan over medium heat. Bring to a bubbly boil for about 4 minutes. Pour sugar mixture over crackers and spread evenly.

Bake at 400 degrees for 7 minutes.

Remove and cool for no longer than 2 minutes. Sprinkle chocolate chips on top and while melting, smooth to cover. Sprinkle nuts on top. Refrigerate until chocolate has hardened. Peel off foil and break into bite size pieces.

2 thoughts on “Toffee Bark

Leave a Reply

