Motivation to eat what we want

Recipe for Success in eating whatever your heart desires!

LAME topic! I know, but it is essential to healthy living. Hear me out.

My weight has yo-yo’d since university, gaining the freshmen 15 only after obtaining my actual degree, eating out all the time, drinking more heavily (which is hard to believe as I spent sometime during my undergrad at the on campus bar), constantly going down south (and as we all know, calories don’t exist outside of our own country) and after many ups and downs, trainers male and female, I have finally made the decision to be healthy. For me. No one else, but myself.

20130205_161435

I am finally on track after getting married and moving into our new place. I’m feeling more confident and don’t feel guilty when I bake little desserts for my husband and I to share, which will be posted shortly of course. As I love baking and all things sweet and chocolately, which this blog will be filled up with shortly, I wanted to take the time before we dive in to clarify that in order to eat all these wonderfully delicious scrumptious delights, that we got to get moving and eat well regularly.

20130205_161342

This post should by no means be considered a fad-diet and should be looked at as a motivating post to help with a healthy lifestyle change, if needed.

Ingredients for success:

  • 1 hour exercise at least 3 times a week
  • 7-10 servings of vegetables and fruits per day
  • 6-8 servings of grain products per day
  • 2 servings of milk or milk alternatives per day
  • 2-3 servings of lean meat or meat alternatives per day
  • + WATER, Lots-o-water.

The Canada’s Food Guide can be found on Health Canada’s website.

Female Health Motivation is another page I follow through facebook. I get daily reminders that I can do it, and tips and tricks as to HOW I can do it.

20130204_185046 20130204_192115

How simple is that?

It takes some planning for this recipe to work best, and usually a supportive partner (Who, let’s be honest, can afford to eat this way too) but it’s doable, and we know deep down that it does.

So what am I really saying here? 

IT IS EASY!

Here is a sample day of mine:

Breakfast: an egg with a slice of all grain toast, orange juice or V8, some berries, coffee or tea, water

Snack: Bag-O-Veg. Size of bag: Sandwich to small freezer size. Slice of cheese, water

Lunch: Shrimp with bulgur salad (I use basil over the mint), cheese and crackers, pear, water

Snack: Banana or apple with a yogurt, water

GYM max 2 hours

Dinner: Pork chop, green beans, mashed cauliflower, water

Snack: Stove top popcorn, BBQ seasoning, water

20130204_192218

 

TIP: Add around 4 elastic bands to your water bottle (depending on the size of     your water bottle you may need to add or minus bands) and take one away when you’ve finished, refill and work your way to taking off another elastic! This helps track your water intake.

 

Goal setting time: To fit back into a dress I bought a year ago. Let’s getting moving!

I’m not going to say much else on this post, as I’m sure we’re pretty much aware of what we need to do and what to eat. We just need the motivation to get there. So let’s use each other!

So let’s do it! Are you with me? YA!

2 thoughts on “Motivation to eat what we want

Leave a Reply

