Homemade Mayonnaise

I encourage all to try this recipe just once! It’s foolproof and takes less than 5 minutes! Fresh homemade mayo, come on, that’s pretty great!

Homemade MayoSo even though I’m finished my Whole 30, I’ll still be making this easy mayo! It literally takes less than 5 minutes to make. Less time than getting in the car to go to the grocery store! Plus it doesn’t have any additives to it. 100 natural goodness for your tuna, salads, dressings and dips.

Homemade MayoI used an empty pasta sauce jar, and my emmerison blend wand almost didn’t fit through the opening of the jar. Be mindful when chosing your jar! A wide mouth mason jar would be perfect!

Homemade MayoThis is also the perfect base to add all kinds of flavour profiles. Jalapeno-Lime for fish tacos… or Horseradish for prime rib… the list goes as far as your imagination!

Homemade MayoThere is no fuss with the egg either which makes this recipe awesome. Out of the fridge and right in the jar! Some other recipes call for aging the egg and bringing to room temp.

Homemade MayoThe oil is imporant for this recipe. The first time I made it I didn’t pay attention to the “light tasting” and just added olive oil and darker avocado oil. Well, I learned my lesson pretty fast. The taste of it was not right. The second time I made it, I followed what Sonia from The Healthy Foodie had indicated – light tasting olive oil (which I had, of course, so why didn’t I use it???). I’ve also used lighter avocado oil, and it’s still pretty tasty.

Homemade MayoI find that it lasts in the sealed jar for a few weeks in the fridge. I usually go through it before it goes bad so I’m not 100% how long it will last. It makes about a cup and a bit. My favourite thing to do with it is to make canned tuna. I add a sliced avocado and tomatoe to the top and just have that for lunch. Yum!

Homemade Mayo

Homemade MayoHomemade Mayonnaise

Prep time: 5-10 minutes     Cook time: n/a    Cool time: n/a

Ingredients:

1 egg

1 cup extra light tasting olive oil or light coloured avocado oil

the juice of half a lemon or whole lime (more/less to taste)

a few pinches of salt (more/less to taste)

Directions:

In a clear jar with a tight fitting lid (which the emmersion blend wand fits through), crack in the egg. It’s ok if it’s right out of the fridge.

Add the lemon juice and salt.

Add the cup of oil.

Using the emmersion blender, place the wand all the way at the bottom of the jar. Power on the emmersion blender and do not move the wand for about 20 seconds. You will notice that almost right away you’ll see results. After the 20 seconds slowly bring your wand up the jar incorporating all the oil. Blend for a few more seconds.

and Voila! Mayo!

Note: Options to add fresh herbs and flavourings such as horseradish, garlic, mustard etc.

{Recipe from The Healthy Foodie}

Homemade Mayo

Leave a comment